Sea world logo

SWRRFI Committee

Professor Michael Capra (Chair)
Professor Capra is a founding member of the SWRRFI Committee. Following Professor Michael Bryden’s retirement in October 2008, Professor Capra has returned to his former position as Chair. He is Professor of Occupational Health and Safety, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Queensland and Conjoint Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health, Faculty of Health, University Newcastle.

Professor Mark Hindell
Professor Hindell has been a member of the SWRRFI committee since 1995 and currently runs the Antarctic Wildlife Research Unit in the School of Zoology, University of Tasmania.

Professor Iain Suthers
Professor Suthers joined the SWRRFI Committee in 2001. He is a Professor in the School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences, and Sydney Institute of Marine Science, University of New South Wales.

Dr Jenny Ovenden
Dr Ovenden joined the Committee in 2004. Dr Ovenden is a Senior Research Fellow, Molecular Fisheries Laboratory, Queensland University and an Adjunct Scientist, Museum National D'Histoire Naturelle, Paris.

Professor Gordon Grigg
Professor Grigg joins the committee in 2007. He is Professor of Zoology at the School of Integrated Biology, the University of Queensland.

Professor Peter Harrison
Professor Harrison joined the Committee in 2012. He is the founding Director of the Marine Ecology Research Centre and the Director of Marine Studies at Southern Cross University.